Little Storping In The Swuff – Baroque Anxieties: Vinyl, LP, Album


3 in stock


Named after a fictional town from an episode of the cult 60s British TV spy series The Avengers, Little Storping In The Swuff was unveiled in 2023 as the new musical vehicle for Rochester based songwriter David Goggin. Baroque Anxieties is the debut album.

Prior to Little Storping In The Swuff, David Goggin was the creative force behind Medway pysch-pop outfit Brigadier Ambrose, once described by Huw Stephens as ‘the greatest thing to ever come out of Chatham’. Brigadier Ambrose released a series of 60s psych influenced singles and an album in the late 00s to widespread Radio One, Radio Two and BBC 6 Music airplay, and performed at various festivals like Latitude and with BBC Introducing during that period.

Goggin also went on to form the short-lived cinematic London band Vlks, described in The Guardian’s band of the day column as “promisingly miserabilist elegiac melodrama’.

Little Storping In The Swuff is the strange English town where Goggin’s previous artistic outputs appear to meet.

‘Baroque Anxieties’ is eleven psych-chamber pop songs about life’s most stupidly incredible mundanities. It was recorded and co-produced with Jim Riley at Ranscombe Studios in Kent, Goggin performing most of the instruments himself with a supporting cast of friends on backing vocals, violin, cello and trumpet duties.

The songs take in Syd Barrett-esque grumbles about show-offs (‘A Little Bit Bored’) and barbecues (‘Prickly David’), 60s spy music meets horror film strings soundtracking Goggin’s fear of performing (‘Oh God What Now’), his fear of leaving parties (‘French Exit’), and his fear of stomach bugs (‘Ballade De Maladie’), and a closing showtune about growing old (‘Under The Night Sky’).

Track list:

A1 Oh God, What Now? 4:10
A2 Prickly David 3:32
A3 Optics Wise 2:06
A4 A Little Bit Bored 2:44
A5 Take Me More Seriously 5:12
B1 French Exit 3:40
B2 Ballade de Maladie 2:54
B3 Pea Soup 3:28
B4 Chokeslammed 3:35
B5 Sunday Evening At Your Nan’s 2:53
B6 Under The Night Sky 3:10

Additional information
Weight 280 g
Dimensions 35 × 35 × 0.25 cm
Catalogue number


Release Date





Spinout Nuggets


12" LP


Little Storping In The Swuff



Pop Rock, Psychedelic rock

Discogs Release ID


Privacy Preference Center